The Dorset Boy Publishing

Shortlisted SABA book award for Fiction Author of bestselling fighting sail, historical action and adventure stories  based in the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries. The Dorset Boy and Scarlet Fox series are firmly rooted in their periods and around main events of the time.

Book header.png
Judges Short List - Top 3.png

Author and Storyteller

Christopher C Tubbs, is a dog loving, descendent of a long line of Dorset clay miners who has traced his family tree back to the 16th century in the Isle of Purbeck. He left school at 16 to take an apprenticeship in Avionics and has been a public speaker for most of his career and was one of the founders of a successful games company back in the 1990’s. 

Now in his sixties he finally got around to writing the stories he had going around in his head for many years. Thanks to inspiration from the great sea and fantasy authors he was finally able to put digit to keyboard and start writing the Dorset Boy series.

He makes no apologies that he writes for himself. The stories emerge as he writes and is often surprised by the twists and turns that they take.

His dogs sit by him as he writes and it would be unfair to leave them out so look out for them in The Dorset Boy series.


The Dorset Boy Series

Based in the late 18th and early 19th centuries the series chronicles the life and adventures of Martin Stockley. The seventh son and youngest of nine surviving children of a Dorset clay digger he was destined for a short hard life down the ball clay mines of the Isle of Purbeck.

As youngest he is underfed and undersized for his age and when the local school teacher suggests he should join her brother in the Navy as his cabin boy, his parents jump at the chance to sell him.

What follows charts his progress through the ranks of the Navy and society where he rubs shoulders with Nelson, Sir Sidney Smith and Thomas Cochrane, the Prince of Wales and the love of his life Caroline

Raider eBook Cover.jpg

Joseph F Melanson

If spine-tingling naval action is your meat and potatoes, this series is made for you. I am a hopeless fan of Napoleonic naval history. I love a good sea story and Christopher Tubbs supplies the goods. This is a wonderful read you are going to totally enjoy.

Legacy. The final instalment of the Scarlet Fox Series


ISBN-13. 979-8719964676

In the conclusion to the Scarlett series we see Scarlett start a family, and have to face the revenge of the de la Cerdas that results in the loss one of her brothers. She joins Admiral Henry Morgan on a raid on Cuba, establishes an independent settlement and sanctuary for escaped slaves, and faces the horror of her son catching swamp fever. Her relationship with the Carib Indians is leveraged by the French to gain more land on St Lucia which tests both her patience and her negotiating skills. A raid on Venezuela with Morgan is the prelude to them forming the biggest fleet ever seen in the Caribbean to raid Panama. Determined to retire a last golden opportunity presents itself before she is summoned to England to be witness to the trial of Henry Morgan and Governor Modyford for attacking the Spanish while they and Britain were under treaty. Hurricanes, loss, love and high action all contribute to this all action story.



For Signed Paperbacks